So I posted…

Here I am! I posted. And if you’re reading this then the first one can’t have been that bad.

Ok! So my other problem with writing this blog is that I’m going somewhere where half the civilised world (or maybe 95%?) have already been. Oz, Aussie land, Down Under…I mean it’s hardly original. How on earth can I make this interesting? Well, I don’t think I’m your average backpacker: Number 1. I’m nearly 40 (I imagine the average age of the Australisian backpacker is about 21) Number 2. I’m neurotic, paranoid, and generally high maintenance and that’s just what my friends say. Number 3. I passionately hate spiders and all large bugs (which are anywhere near my sleeping arrangements). Number 4. I do not own or wish to own a back pack and finally Number 5. I’m not really sure I want to go now…

Why is it that at my age you start to worry, stress and become overly cautious about travelling ? I know it’s not just me because I have discussed this with a friend. It’s like all the carefree days of your twenties are suddenly erased and you can only focus on all the things that can go wrong. Refer to point 1. above. It’s for the young. The flight for instance – absolutely petrified. Fortunately I have a well seasoned friend who has worked as a trolley dolly for many a year and her advice stayed with me throughout the 24 hours of arduous sitting down that actually is all flying is ‘you’ll be fine as long there isn’t a terrorist attack’ good advice and I clung onto this during the journey…

 

 

 

