Drama ensues…

Every day is a pantomime with me…

Given my breadth of experience there are times when I just wish I could actually think before I act and make better decisions. I am plagued by bad decision making. Plagued I tell you! 

For example…this morning I got into the shower and realised I’d left my towel in my room – bugger I thought. I air dried a bit and then I used a cotton pad to try and wipe off some excess water…surprisingly this was not very effective. So I thought I’d brush my teeth whilst I was waiting. I popped on the toothpaste and started to brush…only it wasn’t toothpaste I realised fairly quickly. It was in fact the Aqueous cream I use to wash my stupidly sensitive skin with…agh! All this before 8 am. It’s exhausting being me!

So when I returned to the hotel that day in Sydney (the hotel shall remain nameless!) I made completely and utterly the wrong the decision. Instead of keeping my mouth shut about my diagnosis, I marched up to reception to give them the good news – that instead of the scabies I had self diagnosed the day before it was definitely a case of bed bugs…

Can you imagine the relief on their faces…no? Neither can I. The drama that ensued was just completely typical for my life. It involved several angry phone calls, tears, recriminations and meetings with the hotel manager. Who was firm but fair; the bug man would come in and ascertain the situation in our room…apparently they can tell if you brought them in with you. (Like I would deliberately carry the little bastards about like a mini bus mans holiday!) His main concern was obviously my welfare…but this would cost a minimum of $300! I was fucked!

We had to evacuate our room for the afternoon until the bug man had been. He turned up in his bug suit and carrying his exterminating kit. The hotel staff all glared at me accusingly. Once again – I was not carrying bed bugs around with me on purpose! In the mean time we went to wash ALL my clothes. Everything I owned even the stuff I hadn’t worn. I bought a bug spray and sprayed my suit case and my shoes. Anything I couldn’t wash. To add to my humiliation I was forced to wear a bikini bottom as a bra, because everything else was at the laundry, and buy a new pair of pants.

We tried to distract ourselves with tbe botanical gardens…my phone rang – it was the manager. 

NO bed bugs found!

Thank god for that. The hotel manager let me off the fee as a Christmas treat! The only downer was that my pyjamas – a present from India, so guaranteed bug free – disappeared with the sheets…I was devestated but given the circumstances, I decided to let it go! 

